Skip to main content


Bartholomew County

Bartholomew County was formed on February 12, 1821, and was named after former Lt Col Joseph Bartholomew who was wounded at the Battle of Tippecanoe. The courthouse in Columbus (the county seat) was completed in 1874 and is still the current courthouse being used by the county today. At a total area of almost 410 sqaure miles, Bartholomeww County has a population count of 82,753 residents.