Skip to main content


Bourbon County

Established in 1785 from a portion of Fayette County, VA, Bourbon County was established due to the gratitude of Louis XVI of France during the American Revolutionary War. The original Bourbon County (Virginia) was one of the thirty-four counties of Kentuckys’ current 120 counties. Once Kentucky became its own state in 1792, the current Bourbon County then became one of the nine original counties of the state. The county sits at 292 squre miles and its name comes from the simple fact that it is the birthpalce of Bourbon Whiskey.