Skip to main content


Crawford County

Crawford County was formed in 1818. The county was named for William H. Crawford who was a U.S. Treasury Secretary in 1818. The county seat was originally Leavenworth for several decades until it was eventually moved to English. The county is surrounded by the counties of Orange, Washington, Harrison, Meade (KY) Perry and, Dubois counties. The county has a total area of 309 sqaure miles along with a population count of 10,558 residents.