Skip to main content


DeKalb County

DeKalb County was formed in 1837 from land in Cannon, Warren, and White counties. The county was created by the General Assembly of Tennessee on December 2, 1837, and was named for Revolutionary War hero Major General Johann de Kalb. With the county seat being Smithville, it has a total area of 329 square miles to go with a population count of 18,723 residents.