Skip to main content


Dyer County

Dyer County was founded by a Private Act of Tennessee that was passed on October 16, 1823. The area was part of the territory in Tennessee that was previously legally recognized as belonging to the Chickasaw Native Americans as “Indian Lands”. The county was named for Robert Henry Dyer who lived from 1774 to 1826. Dyer had been an army officer in the Creek War, War of 1812, and a cavalry colonel in the First Seminole War of 1818 before becoming a state senator. He was instrumental in the formation of the counties of Dyer and Madison. The county has a total area of 527 square miles and a population count of 37,320 residents.