Skip to main content


Loudon County

Loudon County was formed on May 27, 1870, from portions of Roane, Monroe, and Blount counties. Originally, it was named Christiana County, but a few days later the name was changed to Loudon in honor of nearby colonial-era Fort Loudoun. Though the county seat is Loudon, its largest city is Lenoir City. The county today has a total area of 247 square miles with a population count of 54,068 residents.