Skip to main content


Magoffin County

The county was formed in 1860 from adjacent portions of Floyd, Johnson, and Morgan Counties. It was named for Beriah Magoffin who was Governor of the state from 1859 to 1862. It is the county seat to the town of Salyersville. Surrounded by the Licking River, Magoffin county has a total area of 309 square feet and has a poulation count of 12,362 residents.