Skip to main content


Menifee County

Menifee County was formed on May 29, 1869, from portions of Bath, Montgomery, Morgan, Powell, and Wolfe counties. The county is named for Richard Hickman Menefee who was a former U.S Congressman and to this day no one knows the reason why the spelling of the county name is different from that of who the county is named after. With a total area of only 206 sqaure miles, Menifee County is the fifth less populated county in Kentucky at 6,451 residents according to the latest bereau report.