Skip to main content


Owsley County

Owsley County was formed in 1843 from portions of Clay, Breathitt, and Estill Counties and was named after former Governor William Owsley. Owsley County is Kentucky’s 96th county in order of formation. Owsley County used to have of a total area however, some of the county land was used to form Jackson County in 1858 and Lee County in 1870. That being said, according to the latest bereau report, the county has a total area of 198 square miles and has 4,755 residents calling the county home.