Skip to main content


Roane County

Roane County was formed in 1801, and named for Archibald Roane who was the second Governor of Tennessee. Upon the creation of the Southwest Territory in 1790, the territory’s governor, William Blount, initially wanted to locate the territorial capital at the mouth of the Clinch River, but was unable to obtain title to the land from the Cherokee Indians that had the land at that time. With the county having a total area of 395 square miles, it also has a population count of 53,382 residents.