Skip to main content


Scott County

Scott County was formed in 1820 from portions of Clark, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, and Washington counties. It was named for Gen. Charles Scott who was Governor of Kentucky from 1808 to 1812. The county seat is Scottsburg which is located about 30 north of Louisville, KY. With a total area of 193 square miles, there is a population count of 23,878 residents.


Scott County

On June 1, 1792, when the state of Kentucky came into existence, an early act of the new state legislature was to divide Woodford County into two counties. One of those counties became Scott County, named after former General Charles Scott in the Revolutionary War, who would later serve as Kentucky’s fourth governor from 1808 to 1812. Its area was taken from the existing Woodford County. With Scott County having a total area of 285 square miles, it has a total count of 47,173 residents calling it home.


Map of Kentucky highlighting Scott County