Skip to main content


Sevier County

Sevier County was formed on September 18, 1794, from part of Jefferson County, and has retained its boundaries ever since. The county takes its name from John Sevier, governor of the failed State of Franklin and first governor of Tennessee, who played a prominent role during the early years of settlement in the region. Since its establishment in 1795, the county seat has been situated at Sevierville which is the eighth-oldest city in Tennessee. The county has a total area of 598 square miles and a population count of 98,250 residents.