Skip to main content


Simpson County

Simpson County was established in 1819 from Allen, Logan, and Warren counties. The county is named for captain John Simpson who was a Kentucky militia officer who fought in Battle of Fallen Timbers in the Northwest Indian War and was killed during the War of 1812 in the Battle of River Raisin. The county seat in Franklin , it also has a total area of 236 square miles and a population count of 17, 327 residents.


Map of Kentucky highlighting Simpson County