Skip to main content


Wolfe County

Wolfe County was formed on March 5, 1860, from portions of Breathitt, Morgan, Owsley and Powell counties. It was named for Nathaneal Wolfe,\ who was a member of the legislative assembly. Campton, which is the county’s seat, was reportedly formed from camp town in Wolfe County. A breif history fact, the county has small creek winding through Campton, Swift Creek, is named after Jonathan Swift of the legend of Swift’s Silver Mine. Swift supposedly buried treasure in the area which has never been recovered. With the county having a total area of 223 square miles, it only has a population count of 7,355 residents.