Skip to main content


Blount County

On July 11, 1795, Blount County became the tenth county established in Tennessee when the Territorial Legislature voted to split adjacent Knox and Jefferson counties. The new county was named for the governor of the Southwest Territory, William Blount, and its county seat, Maryville, was named for his wife Mary Grainger Blount. Before its establishment, the county was first ruled by the Cherokee Tribe due to the first arrival of European settlers in the late 18th century. Today the county has a total area of 567 square miles with a population count of 133,088residents.