Skip to main content


Cannon County

Cannon County was established by the Tennessee state legislature on January 31, 1836. It was formed from portions of Rutherford, Smith, Wilson, and Warren counties and was named for Governor Newton Cannon. This is part of the Middle Tennessee region, with mixed farming and livestock raising, including thoroughbred horses. The county has a total area of 266 square miles and it has a total population count of 14,678 residents.