Skip to main content


Franklin County

The three original counties of Kentucky (Jefferson, Fayette and Lincoln counties) intersected in what is today Franklin County. Franklin County was first established in 1795 from land given by Mercer, Shelby, and Woodford counties. Franklin was the 18th county to become established within the state in order of formation. The state capitol county sits at 212 square miles and is home to 51,000 residents.