Skip to main content


Hancock County

Hancock County was established in 1829 from portions of Breckinridge, Daviess, and Ohio counties. The county is named after John Hancock who was former President of the Continental Congress and one of the signers (if not the most recognizable) of the Declaration of Independence. The current courthouse, the second to serve the county, was built in 1868 and renovated in 1978. At a square mileage of only 199, its residential population is currently at 8,758 residents.