Skip to main content


Williamson County

The Tennessee General Assembly created Williamson County on October 26, 1799, from a portion of Davidson County. This territory had long been inhabited by at least five Native American cultures, including tribes of Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Shawnee. The county is named after Hugh Williamson, a North Carolina politician who signed the U.S. Constitution. The county has a population of 238,412 residents calling the 584 square mileage county home.